How To Use Message Center
- Navigating Message Center
- Types of Messages
- Message Center Details
You can access messages within ferguson.com regarding your account and activity via Message Center. Message Center, which is accessible by clicking the Account icon, contains all messages you have received. If there are unread messages in Message Center, an orange dot appears in the upper corner of the Account icon and the number of unread messages appears in parentheses next to the Message Center link under the Account dropdown. Messages that have been read will appear for up to 30 days unless you manually deleted them from the Message Center.
With Message Center you can:
- Receive updates related to quotes, orders, etc. without making a phone call to your Ferguson sales associate.
- Receive online notifications when new quotes are available, or when existing quotes have been updated.
- Access the Quote and Order details page directly from the notification.
- Access a My List you have shared with a co-worker directly from the notification.
- Receive updates related to your account when a new main/job account is added or when an employee is deleted from Company Settings.
Navigating Message Center
There are multiple ways to access Message Center to view your messages:
- Account Icon
Click “Account” to open the account menu and access Message Center. The number of new messages appears in parentheses next to Message Center, and new messages appear in a flyout to the left. Click “View All Messages” under the new messages or “Message Center” in the account dropdown to go to Message Center.
Click “Dashboard” to access the Message Center. Message Center is located in the left-hand navigation menu under Orders.
Types of Messages
There are different types of notifications that appear in Message Center based on your specific ferguson.com user role.
All users receive the following notifications:
- When a co-worker shares a My Lists with you.
- When your online order is submitted successfully, and the Order Status has changed to Pending (you can access the Order Details page directly from the notification).
- When a Ferguson associate has edited a quote.
Customers with Admin, Purchasing, and Combo Roles receive the following notifications:
- When an order has shipped. The notification contains tracking information when the order is shipped via UPS or FedEx.
- When your order has been delivered. The notification contains a link to the Order Details page where Proof of Delivery can be viewed, if available.
- When a backorder is created. You can access the Order Details page directly from the notification.
- When a quote is ready for review.
- When you start a quote.
- When a Ferguson associate creates a quote and makes it viewable online.
- When a new job account is added.
- When a new main account is added.
- When a quote is edited by a Ferguson associate.
- When an employee account is deleted in Company Settings.
- When you have submitted an order that needs approval.
- When orders are submitted for your approval.
- When an order you have submitted for approval has been canceled.
Message Center Details
There are Message Center details that indicate the number of unread and read messages in your inbox. You can also click various message actions that allow you to view account activity and move messages between unread and read.
- Orange Dot – The orange dot next to the Account icon indicates that you have unread messages.
- Orange Bell – The orange bell notification next to Unread Messages displays the number of unread messages.
- Mark All As Read - Click “Mark All As Read” to mark all unread message as read. This moves the message to the Read Messages section.
- View Quote/Order – Click “View Quote” or “View Order” to go directly to the Quote or Order indicated in the notification.
- Mark As Read - Click “Mark as Read” to mark an unread message as read. This moves the message to the Read Messages section. Please note that messages that you have already read will appear for up to 30 days unless you manually delete them.
- Mark As Unread - Click “Mark as Unread” to mark a read message as unread. This moves the message to the Unread Messages section.